Friends Never Abandon Friends (5/9ths already!)

05 November 2023

I watched the Five Nights at Freddy's movie twice. Once on Saturday October 28 as part of my cousin's birthday party. Again on Sunday October 29 with my friends. I didn't intend to view the movie twice initially, but when I was told about my cousin's birthday plans I didn't want to give up on what my friend's had been planning with me for months. So yeah, I watched the Five Nights at Freddy's movie two times.

I've been a fan of FNAF since 2019. I believe I discovered it either through Random Encounters or Game Theory. However I discovered it, I got real into it and even dressed up as the puppet for Halloween. I was really enthusiastic about all of it back then, and I'm once again really enthusiastic after seeing the movie. I was gonna sumarize the movie but while I was trying I learned that I am really bad at sumarizing movies, so I didn't.

I loved it. It was put together real well for a movie based on an indie horror game. I loved the amount of references it made (stuff like the dream theory book, youtuber cameos, multiple mentions of Sparky the Dog, etc). I loved seeing the animatronics do stuff, they looked really cool. The scene where they beat up a gang of invaders was so good. Also the scene in which they built a pillow fort. I know that some people didn't like that scene, but I thought it was cool. They're the ghosts of children they're gonna act like children. Matthew Lillard was a really good actor for William Afton. I loved the springlock faliure scene. It was really interesting to see an iconic moment from FNAF on the big screen. The audience clapped when he said "I always come back" the first time I saw the movie. One of my friends believes that scene needed more blood. I somewhat agree, but I'm honestly just happy that there is a FNAF movie at all. It was such a big part of me in middle school, and it was just so exciting to see. Vanessa is the one part of the movie that kinda confused me. At no point in the movie did I have any idea what her motives were going to be. Watching a second time it kinda made a bit more sense to me, but I was still confused. My friends mainly didn't get the fact that she ended up being William's daughter. I really don't know what to make of any of it. Either way the movie was so good. I know that critics are saying things about fanservice and all that, but, as a fan, I like being serviced.

All jokes aside I guess there are some parts of the movie that wouldn't hit as hard if you don't really know much about the games. Like anything William Afton related is only epic because we know who this guy is. The scene in which Vanessa reveals his name comes to mind. I've also seen people criticizing the use of his catchphrase near the end of the movie because it makes little sense to a non-fan. Either way, I loved the Five Nights at Freddy's movie. It was definitely made for the fans, but as a fan I don't see too big of a problem in that.

Take me home please.