The St. Louis City Museum is something else.

16 March 2024

This page is not a travel blog, but I went somewhere so cool and strange that I feel like I must write SOMETHING about it. So the St. Louis City Museum is this huge indoor playground type thing. I think that it's got four floors with stuff on them, around ten or eleven floors in total, but those ones are offices or something. Either way, you walk in and immediately there's a lot to take in, there's artwork everywhere of various animals. I think it was mainly reptiles and fish. Alongside the main staircase there are tunnels and slides. There are so many tiny crawlspaces in pretty much every corner of the place, and usually if you see a hole that you can fit into it leads somewhere interesting. The whole place screwed up my sense of direction.

So what's interesting about this museum is that it seems like it was designed for kids to get lost in. There are so many tiny tunnels that adults wouldn't be able to fit into. Those tunnels then act as shortcuts to areas of the museum that you'd need to go a lot farther to access with stairs. It was so much fun, but also every part of my body hurts. There's a whole manmade cave inside part of it, and there are so many hidden secrets and passageways. It's all interconnected through these little tunnels. There are also five and ten story slides which are accessed from this room with a ton of spiraling staircases that go up really far. There's a whole outdoor climbing area with airplanes and castles. There's an aquarium, there's a skatepark, there are also several rooms that are just normal museum type rooms with exhibits in them. It's amazing. I loved it.

I'd reccomend it as a place to get lost with your friends, wear pants with pockets to avoid having to crawl with a purse on you. If you want to bring your kids here make sure you're ready to keep a good eye on them. I probably wouldn't want to bring my kids here if I had any. It was hard enough to find myself in that madhouse. Anyways fun place, go there if you can.

Take me home please.